Settore FlightSim => FsX => Topic started by: calavera on May 16, 2007, 11:44:25 AM



Title: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: calavera on May 16, 2007, 11:44:25 AM
Che ci fate ancora lì, andate a scaricarlo!  ;)
http://www.fsinsider.com/downloads/Pages/FlightSimulatorXServicePack1.aspx (http://www.fsinsider.com/downloads/Pages/FlightSimulatorXServicePack1.aspx)


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 16, 2007, 12:19:56 PM
Sto Facendo!!!!


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 16, 2007, 12:25:29 PM
ed oggi lo provo...

Dimenticavo: é necessario anche scaricare l'update SP1A dell'SDK ( per chi ne fa uso ) ...  :ph34r:


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: calavera on May 16, 2007, 12:34:02 PM
Vuoi dire che per un uso "normale" del simulatore bisogna scaricare l'update dell'SDK? E' necessario per l'installazione di pacchetti esterni? O se ne può tranquillamente fare a meno?

Cmq, se lo hai installato ci dici le prime impressioni? :blink:

Ciao!


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 16, 2007, 03:18:02 PM
SDK è necessario per gli sviluppatori... Ancora non installato..I'm at work  ^-^


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: calavera on May 16, 2007, 04:34:06 PM
Impressionante!
Tutti i settaggi su "medio-alto". Solo lo slide del limite FPS impostato su "illimitato".


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 16, 2007, 10:34:59 PM
Finalmente si torna a volare , con FSX!!!  :2funny:

Dopo un minimo di test, la presenza del SP1 si sente, eccome. La mia configurazione , con 1Gb di RAM e 7600GT 256Mb e AMDx2 e Vista Ultimate, finalmente riesce a far andare FSX con una media di 19fps ( avento il limite a 20 ) con configurazioni medie ( pari a quelle pre SP1) durante un volo LIRN-LIRI. Tale tratta è stata scelta in modo da comparare la morfologia reale con quella del sim. Inoltre i tempi di caricamento sono nettamente migliorati.
Il simulatore , durante il mio semplice test, non andava più a strappi durante le virate o cambi di visuale, ma cosa che ancora non è cambiato è l'autogen ( la piana del Sele pari ad una landa desolata ). Di contro sono ben riportate le autostrade e strade e le linee di costa.

Nei prox giorni, posterò ulteriori dettagli relativi ai test con settaggi aumentati!

Avevo fatto degli screen, ma il software ha catturato solo schermate nere. Qualcuno conosce un ottimo software per il capture screen?  :huh:



Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 16, 2007, 10:41:16 PM
Dal sito di PTaylor ( http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/ ) alcuni trucchi per migliorare ancora FSX SP1:

FSX SP1:New tweaks
In fsx.cfg

 

---



There is a tweak to control scheduling of threads on cores.

 

It is not recommended to change these settings unless you have a performance reduction and/or maxed out CPU loads in the PerfMonitor. The tweak is

Edit:Fixed a typo here
 [JOBSCHEDULER]
AffinityMask=n
where
 n      num of cores scheduled
1  = 1 core           0001
3  = 2 cores         0011
7  = 3 cores         0111
15= 4 cores         1111

 

----

 

There is additional code to reduce blurries. If you get random texture tiles that appear in a solid color this may help.

 

In some cases, the textures generated from this code can get throttled and will be timed out.  The time out config value is

[TERRAIN]

SWAP_WAIT_TIMEOUT=<number_of_frames>

The default is 30 frames.

 

--

 

There are new config items to control VSYNC for fullscreen and windowed separately

 

[DISPLAY]

ForceFullScreenVSync, default is TRUE

ForceVSync, default is FALSE

 

We have seen cases where when VSYNC is on in fullscreen causing major fluctuations in frame rate especially when setting the rate limiter above 45.  If you run into widely fluctuating FPS in fullscreen when aiming for above 45, try turning VSYNC off or reducing below 40.

 

--

 

For the dusk/dawn textures some people feel, subjectively, the result is too dark or too light. There are 2 items that allow the transition time to be changed:

[GRAPHICS]

DAY_THRESHOLD

NIGHT_THRESHOLD

 

acceptible values are 0 to 65535. 

Defaults:

DAY: 32768

NIGHT: 4096

 

These represent the amount of 'ambient' light at the ends of the day/night blend threshold. Zero is perfect dark, 65535 is full day sun at noon in the summer.

--

 

There is a tweak that helps with panel updates, especially the glass panel. If you use the glass panel and notice very slow updates. There is a  2 part tweak:

 

[GRAPHICS]

DirtyRegionUpdateLimit=<integer>

 

By default this UINT32_MAX (i.e. four billion or so) so it has no effect.

Setting it to zero effectively forces full texture updates instead.

 

Setting it to smaller numbers (1-1000) might improve performance if the card is slow at full texture updates and does not have a high overhead for incremental updates.

 

[GRAPHICS]

MergeDirtyRegionUpdates=<0/1>

 

By default this is 0 (i.e. disabled) so it has no effect.

Setting it to 1 (enabled) causes us to merge all of the dirty rects into a single large dirty rect. This means that we will only do a single partial texture update.

 

This may work well if the card is slow at full texture updates and does have high overhead for incremental updates.

 

---

 

There is a scenery tweak to eliminate very small objects, which can reduce render time.

 

[SCENERY]

SmallPartRejectRadius=<pixels>

 

Basically this culls out small model parts (e.g. air conditioners on roofs of buildings, aircraft doors) if their radius would occupy less than the specified number of screen pixels.

 

The default is 1.0 (i.e. 1 pixel). 2, and 4 are the next 2 settings we advise. Can significantly improve performance but may cause “popping” of small objects

 
 :ph34r: :ph34r:

Inoltre viene specificato su che cosa si è lavorato nel SP1:

FSX SP1:New tweaks
In fsx.cfg

 

---



There is a tweak to control scheduling of threads on cores.

 

It is not recommended to change these settings unless you have a performance reduction and/or maxed out CPU loads in the PerfMonitor. The tweak is

Edit:Fixed a typo here
 [JOBSCHEDULER]
AffinityMask=n
where
 n      num of cores scheduled
1  = 1 core           0001
3  = 2 cores         0011
7  = 3 cores         0111
15= 4 cores         1111

 

----

 

There is additional code to reduce blurries. If you get random texture tiles that appear in a solid color this may help.

 

In some cases, the textures generated from this code can get throttled and will be timed out.  The time out config value is

[TERRAIN]

SWAP_WAIT_TIMEOUT=<number_of_frames>

The default is 30 frames.

 

--

 

There are new config items to control VSYNC for fullscreen and windowed separately

 

[DISPLAY]

ForceFullScreenVSync, default is TRUE

ForceVSync, default is FALSE

 

We have seen cases where when VSYNC is on in fullscreen causing major fluctuations in frame rate especially when setting the rate limiter above 45.  If you run into widely fluctuating FPS in fullscreen when aiming for above 45, try turning VSYNC off or reducing below 40.

 

--

 

For the dusk/dawn textures some people feel, subjectively, the result is too dark or too light. There are 2 items that allow the transition time to be changed:

[GRAPHICS]

DAY_THRESHOLD

NIGHT_THRESHOLD

 

acceptible values are 0 to 65535. 

Defaults:

DAY: 32768

NIGHT: 4096

 

These represent the amount of 'ambient' light at the ends of the day/night blend threshold. Zero is perfect dark, 65535 is full day sun at noon in the summer.

--

 

There is a tweak that helps with panel updates, especially the glass panel. If you use the glass panel and notice very slow updates. There is a  2 part tweak:

 

[GRAPHICS]

DirtyRegionUpdateLimit=<integer>

 

By default this UINT32_MAX (i.e. four billion or so) so it has no effect.

Setting it to zero effectively forces full texture updates instead.

 

Setting it to smaller numbers (1-1000) might improve performance if the card is slow at full texture updates and does not have a high overhead for incremental updates.

 

[GRAPHICS]

MergeDirtyRegionUpdates=<0/1>

 

By default this is 0 (i.e. disabled) so it has no effect.

Setting it to 1 (enabled) causes us to merge all of the dirty rects into a single large dirty rect. This means that we will only do a single partial texture update.

 

This may work well if the card is slow at full texture updates and does have high overhead for incremental updates.

 

---

 

There is a scenery tweak to eliminate very small objects, which can reduce render time.

 

[SCENERY]

SmallPartRejectRadius=<pixels>

 

Basically this culls out small model parts (e.g. air conditioners on roofs of buildings, aircraft doors) if their radius would occupy less than the specified number of screen pixels.

 

The default is 1.0 (i.e. 1 pixel). 2, and 4 are the next 2 settings we advise. Can significantly improve performance but may cause “popping” of small objects

 

Posted Tuesday, May 15, 2007 4:29 PM by Phil Taylor | 11 Comments

FSX SP1:Imminent
We are pushing bits for all languages but Japanese thru the internal tools. This could take 2 hrs, it could take 8.

We expect to get Japanese approval to push the bits soon, but that download may be delayed a day or so.

Stay tuned, its real soon now. Really!

Posted Tuesday, May 15, 2007 4:26 PM by Phil Taylor | 10 Comments

FSX SP1:Performance work
Finally, we have shipped!

 

It’s been solid work since Nov from the Graphics and Terrain team on SP1 performance.

 

Here is a work-list on performance so you can understand what we did:

 

General Performance Work

1.         performed more work on the LOD system,

2.         optimized the UI rendering to reduce overhead when the UI is visible,

3.         front-end texture loader no longer loads loads full mips when it doesn’t need to

4.         removed redundant elevation queries when scenery complexity is low

5.         avoid rasterizing water into the DEM for textures that are all land

6.         fixed redundant vertex issue with key Autogen BGLs

7.         updated XToMdl tool to leverage same vertex issue, resulting in model vertex reduction on the order of 25-40% for 3rd party developers.

 

D3D Performance Work

8.         enabled skinning for more animated objects; which reduces Draw calls,

9.         batched Autogen objects to reduce Draw calls,

10.       optimized tree rendering to reduce SetTexture calls

11.       coalesced shader state to reduce uploads to the card

12.       fixed 3 FS8 AI aircraft in terms of Draw calls. This is the MD-80, Dash-8, and Cherokee. This is a >10x reduction. They are 25% of the worldwide air traffic DB so this can be significant.

 

Multi-core Performance Work

13.       moved DEM loading to threads,

14.       moved terrain texture synthesis ( the process itself is documented in Adams' "Global Terrain Technology for Flight sim paper at http://fsinsider.com/Community/Developers-Corner/Global+Terrain+for+Flight+Simulator.htm, see the bit about the layers and texture synthesis ) to threads,

15.       moved Autogen batch rebuilds to threads

 

That’s 15 different work items. We were busy!

 

How it went together

 

Now, don’t think because we are calling it a “patch” that we are doing binary patches. We are not.

 

Yes, we use a delta-patching technology in the installer. For scenery bgls and the like. Even there some files have changed enough that the delta-patcher cannot handle them and we have to have a "full file" in the patch. The bgl for the Japanese traffic data is an example, we reversed the traffic vectors for the entire country, and almost every byte changed. We tried to put it through the delta-patcher, but it keeled over and gave up and errored out during setup.

 

We *are* rebuilding the binaries from scratch. Thats not trying to patch the old binaries, its replacing them with new files, many of which have quite a bit of new code. The multi-core work, for instance, went thru the terrain code stack from top to bottom. Thats one reason why SP1 took so long. The multi-core infrastructure is solid, will use up to 256 cores if available, and will continue to be used as we migrate systems to it as it makes sense. Terrain and autogen are it for now, we'll be evaluating when to do more.

 

General Performance Work

 

The general performance work reduced the amount of work we try to do in various scenarios. I want to call out the redundant vertex issue, that’s a key thing we fixed in the Autogen blgs (autogen.bgl, vegetation.bgl, and roofs.bgl) as well as in the SDK tool to pass the savings on to all 3rd party developers when they reauthor with the SP1 SDK.

 

D3D Performance Work

 

D3D API usage work was aimed at reducing our Draw and SetTexture API calls. So what are Draw and SetTexture calls? These are the D3D9 API calls that the engine issues to push textures and draw triangles down to the card, the bulk of the work in rendering. We were issuing way too many Draw and SetTexture calls; SP1 is a 35-40% reduction in both. Taking those optimizations is aimed at enabling the app to scale better on GPUs. We took some optimizations on shader state to, which is a nice win. And the 3 FS8 AI aircraft where just horrendous in RTM so that’s another nice fix.

 

Multi-core Performance Work

 

Intel is using FSX as one of their prime examples at IDF, we had a lot of engineering time from one of their threading guys. Intel doesn’t do that lightly. We used the time to good benefit.

 

During loading, we run the DEM loader on threads. You'll see good balanced usage across all cores; as well as about 1/3 faster load times on average.

 

During flight we spawn threads for Autogen batch rebuilds as well as the terrain texture synthesis. The terrain texture work tends to be a bit bursty; as an area gets generated the load reduces true. But as you fly forward, as you bank, and as the terrain is lighted ( once a minute ) threads are spawned. The terrain grid system is radial around the current viewpoint, and, depending on level of detail radius can be up to 4.5 tiles in either direction, something like 64 tiles. So there is plenty of work to go around. Autogen is more constant, with a 2km extent being batched.

 

Even given the bursty nature of the core usage when flying; when there is load, its pretty balanced across the cores. And we got rid of as much of the stutters as we could by going to a lock-free synchronization style. Its solid work that we are deservedly proud of.

 

As far as practical limits on number of usable cores; currently SetThreadAffinityMask only allows explicit scheduling of threads on 32 cores ( the mask is a dword ) on Win32. So thats our effective limit on number of cores. But as soon as there is a way to explicitly schedule them, we can handle 256 cores.


 

Conclusion

 

With all that said, the Draw and SetTexture API call reductions and Autogen size reductions are probably as important for FPS improvements; the multi-core work really shines for load balancing and reducing stutters and blurries. And both are critical for better scaling as CPUs and GPUs get better.

 

We think SP1 is going to deliver the goods for most users, and will reward users with better hw the most. We expect that, except in the very,very low end hw, all users should see a 20% gain. Some scenarios will see 40%, and some will see a bit more. Its really going to depend on a lot of variables. We hope this enables users to either fly at the same settings with greater FPS, or to bump the sliders up 1 or 2 ticks and still get the same FPS you had.

 

It’s going to take time to see if that holds true, but we had good results in our perf lab and with the beta testers.

 

Note 1:

 

The vastly improved batching of Autogen was one of the major performance items in SP1 and helps to reach our target reduction of 35-40% for Draw and SetTexure calls. However, it does have an implication that, when coupled with a feature we lost from FS9, you should be aware of.

 

FSX does not “alpha-fade” Autogen in the distance. This makes for a discernable “pop” of Autogen objects. SP1 batches objects in a 2 km boundary. This, when coupled with the lack of “alpha-fade”; does make the Autogen “pop” a little more obvious than in RTM. We think it’s a fair tradeoff, though, for the performance gain.

 

For DX10 we will look at bringing the “alpha-fade” back.

 

Note 2:

 

We changed our bucketing code in SP1, so if you use “Restore Defaults” from the UI, you may see different default settings. What did we do? Well, RTM only detected up to 512m of memory and used that as the “Ultra High” setting. With the 768m 8800 card out, there was no way to stratify that above the 512m 7950s. So we detect 640m of graphics memory and treat 640m and greater as “Ultra High”.

 

There is an issue on Vista, where on some cards it can report a “shared” memory value larger than the physical value and that confuses our bucketing code. If you don’t have a DX10 card and you are getting bucketed “Ultra High” for instance, change your settings down. We’ll take a look at this again in DX10 to adjust the Vista bucketing.



Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: calavera on May 16, 2007, 11:13:16 PM
Avevo fatto degli screen, ma il software ha catturato solo schermate nere. Qualcuno conosce un ottimo software per il capture screen?  :huh:

In fsx con la semplice pressione del tasto V.

P.S. - Capo, quando hai tempo ti ricordi di aggiustarmi il libretto? Denghiu!


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: calavera on May 16, 2007, 11:41:12 PM
Un piccolo omaggio alla nostra VA...


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 17, 2007, 09:25:48 AM
Oggi proverò ad installare LIEO di ISD su FSX... ed aumentare i setup .. -:)))


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 17, 2007, 10:49:19 PM
Informazioni dettagliate sulle migliorie introdotte da SP1 al link seguente...

Saluti



Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: calavera on May 18, 2007, 10:25:44 AM
Ehmmmm... quale link? :rolleyes:


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 19, 2007, 11:58:18 AM
Ieri sera ho rifatto un voletto LIRN - LIRI ( Pontecagnano ) variando i parametri grafici di FSX.

Setup:

Detail Radius: Medium
Mesh: 91% - Mesh Resulut 1m - Texture 2m - Water Mid 2x - Scenery & Autogen Very Dense - Ground Scenery ON - Special Effect High
Target FrameRate 50 - Ris: 1280x1024x32 - AntiAlias ON - Bilinear Filt ON - Texture High - Lens,Light,Advanced = ON - Aircraft Ultra

Weather - Medium High

Traffic: Airline: 100% - GA: 61% - Veic Airport: High - Land/Sea/Boat : 65%

La media fps è stata circa 15fps... Prima del SP1 era impensabile proprio volare e nemmeno decollare, tanto il tempo che "frullava" l'hardisk e il bassissimo framerate.
Inoltre , dalle nostre parti, Italia del Sud, l'autogen non copre bene le città... la piana del Sele continua ad esser una foresta, ed Olbia un paese marittimo... Le mesh di Default sono
di ottima qualità rispetto a quelle di FS2k4...

LIRN: alle 6 del mattino... Napoli verso Gaeta, Golfo


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 19, 2007, 12:03:10 PM
Golfo Castellamare , Verso monte S.Liberato presso Cava de Tirreni ( da notare i rilievi, in fs2k4 non si vedevano nemmeno ) , Verso Cetara ( Capri sullo Sfondo ), Rotta verso Altavilla Silentina ( la morfologia è pressochè quasi reale, senza esagerare ... -:) ) , inoltre in basso a sx si vede la tangenziale di Salerno ...


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 19, 2007, 12:07:36 PM
La linea di costa è simile alla realtà, sono riportate bene le strade ed autostrade e linee elettriche ( in fs2k4 di default nemmeno una ), ma la piana del Sele è un unica foresta, mancano paesi e città... perchè si perdono sempre per poco?

In questi giorni effettuerò altri test su Roma, Milano, Olbia e poi negli USA...

Bye


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 19, 2007, 12:20:50 PM
Ehmmmm... quale link? :rolleyes:

http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archive/2007/05.aspx


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: PABLO on May 25, 2007, 11:36:48 AM
Ho installato SP1 ma ho notato solo piccolossimi miglioramenti. Gli scatti sono ancora notevoli, anche con 15-17 fps.
Premetto che il mio sistema operativo è Win XP. Pensate che tramite l'aggiornamento di XP con Vista Home edition possa trarre notevoli miglioramenti ? Prima di spendere ca. 300 Euroni mi piacerebbe sentire la voce di qualche esperto. A proposito, ma Office sarebbe ancora compatibile con l'aggiornamento, oppure si è costretti ad acquistare anche Office 2007 ?

Ringrazio coloro che vorranno rispondere, vista la cifra che dovrei sborsare.
Pablo
 


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 25, 2007, 11:52:22 AM
E' impossibile che non hai notato miglioramenti!

Premetto che i miei test sono effettuati su Vista Ultimate...e non credo che ci siano differenza particolari nel SP1 relative al sistema operativo. Il tutto dipende da che Hw hai... Come puoi leggere sopra, con i setup messi, anch'io ho una media del 19fps... ( ho solo 1Gb di RAM ... )



Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: IG_P591 on May 26, 2007, 02:01:01 AM
Ho installato oggi FSX e SP1. Non ho apportato quindi nessuna di quelle modifiche all'autogen, texture alleggerite ecc ecc.
Quindi allo stato puro.
I miglioramenti annunciati (addirittura con picchi del 50%) sono in realtà dell'ordine di 3 o 4 frame e mi è ancora impossibile tenere attivo il light bloom e gli effetti alti dell'acqua.
Ci sono ancora cadute drastiche sotto i 20 in scenari poco complessi tipo Torino.

Evidentemente quei miglioramenti si possono avere solo con tutte le modifiche del caso. Nessuno ha tirato fuori un utility che faccia tutte quelle modifiche da un semplice menù?


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: PABLO on May 26, 2007, 07:32:58 AM
La domanda verteva sul fatto se aggiornando XP con Vista i miglioramenti sono effettivamente evidenti. Ripeto l'aggiornamento costa ca. 300 euroni. Cmq non mi è parso di leggere una folla di entusiasti, evidentemente FSX è nato proprio male, ho l'impressione che dovrò tenermi stretto FS9, o no ? Boh ? Non ci capisco più niente.

Pablo


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: IG_P591 on May 26, 2007, 11:29:01 AM
Da quel che so attualmente NESSUN videogioco gira meglio su Vista rispetto ad XP. Molti che avevano fatto il passaggio sono tornati indietro in attesa di tempi migliori.
Probabilmente l'evoluzione ci sarà solo con i giochi creati per girare su DX10 con schede video DX10. Gli ibridi difficilmente funzionano bene.


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: PABLO on May 28, 2007, 11:16:18 AM
Ergo, senza DX 10 è perfettamente inutile acquistare l'aggiornamento di XP con Vista. Grazie mi hai fatto risparmiare 300 euroni, e ho capito definitivamente che FSX è stato commercializzato con le premesse sbagliate ( un pò come mettere in vendita vetture con alimentazione ad idrogeno e non trovare un cane che ti voglia fare rifornimento )  e quindi continuo a tenermi FS9. Che grandi che sono questi della MS, riuscirebbero a venderti anche il Colosseo e la torre di Pisa con paghi uno e prendi due.  :knuppel2:

Pablo


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 28, 2007, 11:45:41 AM
... per il momento solo marketing ...


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 28, 2007, 07:27:04 PM
P180 a LIRN.. Meteo Reale riferito a Ven 25 Maggio 07



Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on May 28, 2007, 07:39:23 PM
...


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on June 01, 2007, 09:33:24 AM
Le prove continuano....

Ieri ho ripreso Fs2004 e messo tutti i setup al massimo ponendo un frame rate massimo di 40 fps. Quindi mi sono posizionato sullo storico aeroporto di Chigago ( Meig's ) e scaricato il metar locale...
Bè i frames erano 39.9...
Riprovo con FSX e mettendo i setup al max arriviamo a max 10fps..

Alcune misure:
FSX RAM: processo FSX usava 700Mb di RAM con quantità di RAM fisica pari a 0 e quindi si swappava sul disco alla grande ( tipo frullatore )!
FS2k4 RAM: circa 100Mb..

La cosa positiva: FSX usa entrambi i core della CPU, mentre con FS2k4 solo una CPU era al lavoro ed inoltre la resa visiva e la relativa profondità di campo, come anche i colori, sono più realistici in FSX che in FS2K4.

Intanto ho ordinato un ulteriore Gb di RAM....

Saluti


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: PABLO on June 01, 2007, 10:28:30 AM
Ciao Biagio,

apprezzo molto il lavoro che stai facendo e attendo con trepidazione il giorno che potrai dirci esattamente quali hard e soft occorrono per divertirci con FSX almeno come con FS9.
Sarebbe bello se tu potessi elencarceli uno ad uno come la lista della spesa, comprensibile anche ad un ignorante in materia come me. Cmq grazie per quello che stai facendo, lo ritengo illuminante  :ph34r:

Pablo


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on June 01, 2007, 01:58:04 PM
Grazie per gli apprezzamenti.

Attualmente l'hardware in testing è:

 - Skeda Madre Asus M2N32-SLI DEL
 - ATHLON64 X2 4200+ 2.2GHZ EE PIB SOCKET AM2 1MB FSB1000
 - XFX GF 7600GT XXX 256MB DDR3 PCI-E DUAL-DVI HDTV OUT 590MHZ IN
 - MEMORIA CORSAIR DDR 2 1GB 800MHZ NO PARITY CL5

Bye


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on June 01, 2007, 08:56:06 PM
Oggi è arrivato l'ulteriore banco da 1Gb ( Totale 2 Gb DDR2 800Mhz ). Montato in modalità Dual Channell...

Faccio ripartire FSX per ulteriori testing e finalmente il disco non lavora o meglio non swappa più...

In ordine , le immagini allegate:

1) Risorse PC con FSX a riposo   ( 330 Mb RAM ) mentre in attività ( 775Mb RAM )
2) In volo su New York. Devo migliorare qualche setup di FSX per raggiungere compromesso qualità e fps. In questo caso ho esagerato con le impostazioni di setup, ma già a tale livello il disco non swappava più come un pazzo  :lol: :lol: ( gergo tecnico: trash )...

Ergo: Sono necessari almeno 2Gb di RAM per FSX attivo sia con Vista che con XP !!  :ph34r:  :uglystupid2:

Bye.. i test proseguono... 


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: IG_P591 on June 02, 2007, 09:42:29 AM
Io per sicurezza avevo messo fin da subito 2 GB, a questo punto mi dai la conferma che per una volta "esagerare" ha apportato qualcosa di buono  :lol:
Da qualche parte ho letto che l'ideale sarebbero 3 GB però sono una spesa eccessiva (io ho i banchi a 667 mhz)


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on June 02, 2007, 05:17:09 PM
Io per sicurezza avevo messo fin da subito 2 GB, a questo punto mi dai la conferma che per una volta "esagerare" ha apportato qualcosa di buono  :lol:
Da qualche parte ho letto che l'ideale sarebbero 3 GB però sono una spesa eccessiva (io ho i banchi a 667 mhz)

Per struttare appieno il dual-channel bisogna installare 4gb, cioè 2gb a canale.
Inoltre attualmente 1Gb di Ram Corsair DDR2 PC6400 Cl5 costa circa 60/70 euro + IVA ( su bow.it o eprice.it ), per cui credo che il rapporto prezzo/prestazioni sia ottimo.

Saluti


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on June 04, 2007, 09:16:26 AM
Prima di andare in Comune (  ;) ) vi posto altri 2 screen come confronto FSX/FS2K4

Siamo sempre a Chicago...



Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on June 04, 2007, 09:23:06 AM
1) Meigs è stato cancellato...

2) Aeroporto ...

Inoltre ho notato 2 cose che non ci sono negli aeroporti di FS2k4, almeno di default: c'è il suono ed i rumori aeroportuali, tipo aerei ed altro, veicoli che si muovono, aeree di rifornimento, ecc... ma anche nell'ATC c'è qualcosa di nuovo. Oltre che richiedere il parking, taxing, ecc. è possibile richiedere anche il rifornimento... ( immagine 3 )

Bye

PS:





Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on June 04, 2007, 09:26:46 AM
Aeroporto FSX/FS2k4 ...

Non ci sono paragoni...



Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on June 05, 2007, 07:20:28 PM
Ho modificato il file fsx.cfg con i seguenti tips:

[GRAPHICS]
TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=30
[BUFFERPOOLS]
Poolsize=6000000 ( x default viene implicitamente impostato a 4Mb nel SP1 )
[JOBSCHEDULER]
AffinityMask=3 ( dato che ho CPU 2 core )

e per il momento ho recuperato, a parità di impostazioni 3/4 fps.

Bye :ph34r:


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: ded on July 12, 2007, 03:04:14 PM
Io ho 1 gb di RAM e devo dire che anche dal punto di vista del frame col SP1 va molto meglio!!!
Cmq dal punto di vista grafico nn c'è paragone


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on July 16, 2007, 11:19:31 AM
Consigliati 2Gb...

bye


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: oreste4270 on September 04, 2007, 04:22:40 PM
Consigliati 2Gb...

bye
Anchio ho un gigabyte di RAM. Mi consiglia di arrivare a 2 giga?
Ci sono risultati tali che giustificano tale moidifica?


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: RedFalcon on September 12, 2007, 09:06:25 AM
Si, meglio 2Gb, te lo assicuro, dato che non sentirai più l'harddisk frullare come un matto. In gerco tecnico: il disco non va più in "trash" a causa dei continui "swap" di RAM.

Bye


Title: Re: Rilasciato FSX SP1
Post by: oreste4270 on September 13, 2007, 01:55:04 AM
Grazie!!!!!  :coolsmiley:
Sempre molto preciso e illuminante...  :police: